Zizek reading list and reference guide

This is simply a list of the books I read for a directed reading I did last quarter and a recognition of all of the author’s contributions to my notes and thinking. I have posted some, and plan on posting some more, of my reading notes with the hope that they can be of use to others endeavoring to read Zizek for the first time. Since they were my own personal reading notes I often did not site direct or indirect quotations or ideas. 

So, that being said, I do not know where my thoughts begin and other’s end. In light of this, and since much of my thinking was as a direct result of what I read, I think that it is fair to say that all of my entries posted under notes that are in regards to Zizek should be read as having these as my sources. I am sorry to any author if I directly or indirectly quoted you without due credit. I have tried not to post direct quotes but, again, am not sure. If someone reads this and realizes that this is illegal or something please let me know. I am still helplessly ignorant when it comes to the internet and what is and is not acceptable/kosher.

All of these books are worth checking out.

Zizek and Theology–Adam Kotsko

Zizek: A Very Critical Introduction–Marcus Pound

(Routledge Critical Thinkers series) Slavoj Zizek–Tony Myers

The Parallax View–Slavoj Zizek

The Puppet and the Dwarf–Slavoj Zizek

Violence–Slavoj Zizek

The Fragile Absolute–Slavoj Zizek

Theology and the Political: The New Debate--eds. Davis, Milbank, Zizek–Still haven’t read all of this one, but am enjoying it.

 

I also used this website extensively and recommend it as both a great intro to Lacan and Zizek and a practical experience in differance itself…

 

http://nosubject.com/Main_Page 

3 thoughts on “Zizek reading list and reference guide

    1. Good. I’m no Zizek scholar so he may have been off on some points–I know certain people seem to despise these very-critical introductions since they see no point in theology engaging with philosophy in this way–but on the whole I thought he was fair, thorough and found the book helpful. One thing I appreciated was that he took Zizek to task on some of his readings of Scripture. While Zizek can read Christianity any way he wants I don’t think that it is wrong to question his hermeneutic, especially when it is really sloppy. He does so with Lacan, so it is only fair.

      I also appreciated that Zizek had a short response in the afterward. Of course, his response–if I remember rightly–was not so much a response as a reminder that the Aufhebung of social reality has already happened when the story of the oppressed is told. I agree. Overall liked it and would recommend it with the caveat that it is attempting to be more than just an intro.

      If someone wants just an intro Tony Myers book is incredibly clear and well written for this purpose, and accessible.

Leave a Reply

